UCAR adds two new members to consortium

Four new trustees elected to board

Oct 28, 2021 - by Ali Branscombe

The University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR) has announced the addition of two new member universities to its nonprofit consortium and the list of elected and re-elected trustees to the UCAR board.

UCAR has added North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University (NC A&T) and Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi (TAMU-CC) to its consortium of North American universities, colleges, and education programs that focus on Earth system science. NC A&T is a public, historically Black land-grant doctoral research university based in Greensboro, NC, and TAMU-CC is a Hispanic-serving research institution based in southern Texas. The addition of these two institutions brings the total number of consortium members to 122.

“It is a pleasure to welcome two new university members to our consortium,” said UCAR President Antonio Busalacchi. “The knowledge and academic contributions these two institutions bring to the field of Earth system science will undoubtedly enhance our consortium and bring UCAR one step closer in reaching our goal to better serve and collaborate with our nation’s minority-serving institutions.”

The UCAR members also elected four new trustees to the 18-member UCAR board. This election takes place at the annual UCAR Members’ Meeting, which took place earlier this month. The new trustees are Ana Barros, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign; Heidi Cullen, Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute; Javier Fochesatto, University of Alaska Fairbanks; and Yvette Richardson, Pennsylvania State University.

Three sitting trustees also won re-election: Lourdes Aviles, Plymouth State University; Raymond Ban, Ban & Associates, LLC; and Christine Wiedinmyer, University of Colorado Boulder.

UCAR manages the National Center for Atmospheric Research on behalf of the National Science Foundation.

See all News