Three new trustees elected to the UCAR Board

Five new universities also join consortium

Oct 13, 2023 - by Staff

Three new trustees have been elected to the board of the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR). UCAR, which manages the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) on behalf of the U.S. National Science Foundation, also serves the Earth system science community through its UCAR Community Programs.

The new trustees are at-large member Alice Hill, Council of Foreign Relations; Benjamin Kirtman, University of Miami; and Janet Sprintall, Scripps Institution of Oceanography. 

In addition, Board Chair Shuyi Chen, University of Washington, was elected for a second term, along with at-large members Rita Colwell, University of Maryland College Park and Patty Leslie, The Attainment Network; and Javier Fochesatto, University of Alaska Fairbanks.

UCAR also welcomed five new member institutions to its consortium of colleges and universities. The new members are City College of New York; Northern Illinois University;  University of California, Santa Cruz; University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez; and University of Southern California.

“Each of these new members brings unique and valuable expertise to the community, and I am thrilled to see our list of close colleagues continue to grow,” said UCAR President Antonio Busalacchi.

UCAR is a nonprofit consortium of 126 North American colleges and universities focused on research and training in Earth system science.

See all News